Marketplace Opening vs. Retail Store Opening

Marketplace Opening vs. Retail Store Opening

What is the difference between opening a new retail store in a big city like Munich or launching a marketplace business with your brand on an online platform like Zalando?

Starting a marketplace business is: complex, digital, uncomfortable (because new), intangible and you may go through a lot of resistance until the first products are live and sold online through the platform.

In the following we would like to compare the opening of a "normal" retail store with the opening of a marketplace channel. To make it more specific:

What is the difference between opening a 100 m² store in Munich and a new marketplace presence through Zalando's Partner Program for Germany?

It´s same, same but different.

You need the following for both the Retail Store Opening and the Marketplace Opening

Employees

Whether they're setting up your retail store, stocking the products or advising your customers, you need employees right away. This is also the case for the marketplace business. Here, your employees don't put products on shelves and serve customers in the shop, but they have to create all the structures so that the products can go online first of all. They have to set up and integrate data structures, processes and software. Marketplace managers have an incredibly broad range of tasks, especially at the beginning.

Merchandise

In the retail store, you need merchandise that you show to the customer on site so that they can try it on and buy it. In the marketplace business, you need the goods physically in a B2C warehouse to be able to send them to your customers and you need the appropriate online content for it. This means the right images have to be created (they have to be in accordance with the guidelines of the respective marketplace) and all product data should be set up properly. Only then can the goods be presented online.

Equipment

What the shop fittings are in the retail store, i.e. shelves, mannequins, clothes rails etc., the software is in the marketplace business. Software ensures that the goods are visible online.

IT & Software

Without cash register systems nothing works in a retail store and without marketplace software you will never put an article online. IT & software, as different as they are in scope, without them nothing works. And in the marketplace business software is very extensive. You have to deal with different interfaces and providers until you have found the right strategy and the right partner for you.

Marketing

If no one knows that you are opening a retail store, then no one will come to the opening. This is why you will most likely place different ads, distribute flyers or the like. In the marketplace business, too, customers won't know automatically that you are selling via e.g. the Zalando marketplace from now. In order to present yourself online among the wide range of online shops in your category, you can take various online marketing measures to become more visible. In both cases, the more visibility the better.

Marketplace Opening vs. Retail Store Opening

Conclusion: This is where the marketplace opening scores points

Everything you need to open either a retail store or a marketplace business is different, but similar in many ways. 

For both, it takes about 4-6 months in the best case scenario until you can "open" the business. 

However, the costs differ considerably: for a retail store of 100 m², costs of approx. 100,000-180,000 € arise. The costs for starting a marketplace business, on the other hand, are more manageable: approx. 10,000 - 25,000 € for onboarding, integration of software and other service providers. In addition, you can easily expand the marketplace business to include other marketplaces without high additional costs.  

The difference in customer reach is even greater: if we reach an approximate number of 2 million customers with our retail store in Munich, we can reach 46.3 million customers in Europe through Zalando.

So a retail store opening compared with a marketplace opening are "same, same but different". The conditions are different and yet somehow similar. However, when it comes to the costs and the potential customers you reach, the retail store doesn't stand a chance against the marketplace business.

If you want to learn more about how to make your opening in the marketplace business a success, check out our Marketplace Uni courses .

Request more information or send us a message. We will be happy to help you!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Marktplatz Opening vs. Retail Store Opening

Marktplatz Opening vs. Retail Store Opening

Worin besteht der Unterschied, ob man einen neuen Store in einer Großstadt wie zum Beispiel München eröffnet oder mit seiner Marke ein Marktplatz Opening in einem Online Shop wie Zalando startet?

Ins Marktplatzbusiness zu starten ist: komplex, digital, unbequem (weil neu), nicht greifbar und du darfst durch eine Menge Widerstände gehen, bis die ersten Produkte live sind und online über die Plattform verkauft werden.

Wir vergleichen das Opening eines „normalen“ Retail Stores gerne mit dem Opening eines Marktplatz Kanals. Um es konkreter zu machen:

Worin liegt der Unterschied, einen 100 m² Store in München aufzumachen im Vergleich zu einem neuen Marktplatz über Zalando im Partner Kurs für Deutschland?

It´s same, same but different.

Folgendes benötigst du sowohl beim Retail Store Opening als auch beim Marktplatz Opening

Mitarbeiter*innen

Egal ob sie den Laden aufbauen, die Produkte einräumen oder deine Kunden beraten. Du brauchst sie sofort. Und im Marktplatzbusiness brauchst du sie auch. Hier räumen sie zwar keine Produkte in Regale und bedienen Kunden im Laden, aber sie müssen alle Strukturen schaffen, dass die Produkte überhaupt erstmal online gehen können. Sie dürfen Datenstrukturen, Prozesse und Softwares aufbauen und integrieren. Die Marketplace Manager haben gerade am Anfang ein unfassbar breites Aufgabengebiet.

Ware

Im Laden brauchst du Ware, die du dem Kunden vor Ort präsentierst, damit er sie anprobieren und kaufen kann. Im Marktplatzbusiness benötigst du die Ware physisch in einem B2C-Lager, um sie an deinen Kunden versenden zu können und du benötigst den entsprechenden Content dafür. Das heißt, es müssen die richtigen Bilder erstellt werden, und zwar so, dass sie mit den Guidelines des jeweiligen Marktplatzes übereinstimmen und alle Produktdaten sollten ordentlich aufgestellt sein. Nur so kann die Ware online dargestellt werden.

Einrichtung

Das was im Laden die Ladeneinrichtung ist, also Regale, Schaufensterpuppen, Kleiderstangen etc., ist im Marktplatzbusiness die Software. Diese sorgt dafür, dass die Ware online „hängt“ und so angezeigt werden kann.

IT & Software

Ohne Kassensysteme geht bei dir im Laden nichts und ohne Marktplatz-Software wirst du nie einen Artikel online stellen. IT & Software, so unterschiedlich sie im Umfang benötigt werden, ohne sie geht gar nichts. Und im Marktplatzbusiness ist diese sehr umfangreich. Da muss man sich mit verschiedenen Schnittstellen und Anbietern auseinandersetzen bis man die passende Strategie und den richtigen Partner für sich gefunden hat.

Marketing

Wenn keiner weiß, dass du einen Laden aufmachst, dann wird auch keiner bei der Eröffnung vorbeischauen. Also schaltest du verschiedene Anzeigen, verteilst Flyer o.ä. Auch im Marktplatzbusiness werden die Kunden nicht von allein wissen, dass du zum Beispiel über den Marktplatz von Zalando verkaufst. Um dich online in dem vielfältigen Angebot der Online Shops in deiner Kategorie zu präsentieren, kannst du diverse Online Marketing Maßnahmen schalten, um sichtbarer zu werden. Bei beiden gilt, je mehr Sichtbarkeit desto besser.

Marktplatz Opening vs. Retail Store Opening

Fazit: Darin punktet das Marktplatz Opening

Alles, was du zur Eröffnung eines Retail Stores oder eines Marktplatzbusiness benötigst, ist zwar unterschiedlich, aber doch in vielen Dingen ähnlich. 

Es dauert für beides im besten Fall ca. 4-6 Monate bis man das Business „eröffnen“ kann. 

Die Kosten unterscheiden sich aber erheblich: Für einen Retail Store von 100 m² laufen Kosten von ca. 100.000-180.000 € auf. Die Kosten für den Start ins Marktplatzbusiness sind dagegen überschaubarer: ca. 10.000 – 25.000 € für Onboarding, Integration von Software und andere Dienstleister. Außerdem kannst du das Marktplatzbusiness dann easy für andere Marktplätze ohne hohe weitere Kosten erweitern.  

Noch größer ist der Unterschied bei der Kundenreichweite: Erreichen wir mit unserem Laden in München eine ungefähre Anzahl von 2 Millionen Kunden, so können wir über Zalando 46,3 Millionen Kunden in Europa erreichen.

Ein Store Opening im Retail und über einen Marktplatz sind also „same, same but different“. Die Voraussetzungen sind anders und doch irgendwie ähnlich. Wenn es allerdings um die Kosten und potenziellen Kunden geht, die man erreicht, dann hat der Retail Store gegen das Marktplatzbusiness keine Chance.

Wenn du mehr darüber erfahren möchtest, wie du dein Opening im Marktplatzbusiness zu einem Erfolg machst, schau dir doch unsere Kurse der Marketplace Uni an.

Fordere mehr Infos an oder schreib uns direkt eine Nachricht. Wir helfen dir gerne weiter!

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.